612 Followers
33 Following
christinareadsya

Christina Reads YA

"A children's story which is enjoyed only by children is a bad children's story. The good ones last." --C.S. Lewis

Preview of 2015 Books [Awesomeness Abounds!]

Are you looking for some really great 2015 young adult (or new adult) titles to pre-order with a gift-card? Or maybe you just want to mark your calendar with these new releases...

Because let me tell you, they are AWESOME.

 
You can watch the video above here or at my booktube channel.
 
My favorites of 2015 so far -- and you should totally mark your calendar with these release dates! You can think of this as a sort of preview or recap of my favorites so far because you'll definitely be hearing about these titles from me in FULL. (Well, the Mime Order, I wrote a Reasons to Read the Bone Season post instead. But all the others are lined up, reviews scheduled to post on Tuesdays through April 7th!).


1. The Mime Order - Samantha Shannon on January 27th, 2015
(https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20889470-the-mime-order)

 

  • Book 2 in the Bone Season series (7 total!). Futuristic London + clairvoyency powers + dystopia between humans, clairvoyents, and a mysterious race called the Rephaim? A story told in a very cinematic style - gritty, dark, and full of action? OH, HECK YES. I've submitted my pre-order because this was awesome!

 

2. Stone in the Sky - Cecil Castellucci on February 25th, 2015
(https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21469053-stone-in-the-sky)

 

  • Book 2 in the Tin Star duology. YA science fiction set in space + colonization efforts of humans and many, many races of aliens + girl trapped on a space station as the only human + survival + gold-rush-like elements + political intrigue + a huge galactic struggle.... Epic science fiction you should NOT miss.

 

3. The Winner's Crime - Marie Rutkoski on March 3rd, 2015
(https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20443207-the-winner-s-crime)

 

  • Book 2 in the Winner's trilogy. Set in a Greco-Roman inspired world, a forbidden romance between slave & master + LOTS of political intrigue, class and racial tension between two countries. Games, strategy. Paging Kristin Cashore fans, specifically those who liked Bitterblue: you do not want to miss this sequel - it DEFINITELY raised the stakes from book 1, The Winner's Curse.

 

4. The Walls Around Us - Nova Ren Suma on March 24th, 2015
(https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22859565-the-walls-around-us)

 

  • Orange is the new Black Swan + beautiful writing + seriously check out an excerpt because WOW WOW WOW to that first chapter. Bloody ballerinas + girls juvenile detention system + mystery/suspense + a tribute to girls in all their complexity. Nova Ren Suma's books are unlike any other in YA, and her writing a dream.

 

5. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda - Becky Albertalli on April 7th, 2015
(https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22754644-simon-vs-the-homo-sapiens-agenda)

 

  • Coming-out coming-of-age YA with great voice, humor and heart. Great & huge character cast + adorable romance + grinning so, so hard + wonderful character development. Paging Stephanie Perkins fans, Lauren Oliver fans, and (probably) fans of Jennifer Smith's This Is What Happy Looks Like.

 

6. Crimson Bound - Rosamund Hodge on May 5th, 2015
(https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/21570318-crimson-bound)

 

  • 17th century(?) or 1700s France meets Little Red Riding Hood meets The Maiden with No Hands. Fairy tale retelling that's inspired by its original material but is something completely its own, not bound by retelling demands. Complex characters + fascinating magical creatures + doomed but determined protagonist + romance like in Cruel Beauty + Arthurian elements + layered and unpredictable plot ===> Rosamund Hodge strikes again with pure gold.

7. Made You Up - Francesca Zappia on May 19th, 2015
(https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17661416-made-you-up)

 

  • Alex is a high school senior struggling to tell the difference between reality and delusion, and is very much determined to go to college despite her struggles. Fans of We Were Liars, Stephanie Kuehn, John Green, and The Breakfast Club: helllooo! Unreliable narrators + layered plots + rereading necessary to look at the details again + heartbreaking revelations + psychological twists + quirky/funny, smart characters + a side cast that rounds out the unique high school Alex attends. Definitely a different contemporary -- and one you will WANT to read asap :).


Kinda sorta what I said in the video, but much more abbreviated, ha. Or, if you want to try already released books, I've also talked about my top 12 young adult high fantasy recommendations here. (Yeah, Thursdays/Fridays/okay, really whenever I end up editing videos = the day I discuss on the blog lol regardless of topic.)

Do you plan on reading any of these books? Have you read any of these already? Which books are on your most anticipated of 2015 list?